Writing to your MP, total waste of time…

I wrote to David Gauke MP, he’s my local politico and is supposed to represent his constituents.  I wanted to know if he shared my fears about HMRC’s Real Time Information (RTI) initiative.  I won’t go into details in this post, I’ve written about it before here and why I am concerned about it here.

David responded to my letter saying he had written to Mr Important at HMRC and will write back to me when he has heard back.  I got the next letter saying; “please find enclosed the response I got from Mr Important”.  The letter explained exactly what RTI was and why they thought it was a good idea.  I had explained to Mr Gauke that I knew a lot about RTI, I even took the time to explain to him the basics of the scheme.  I then asked him if he shared my fears that RTI was simply a disguised move towards the much more ominous Centralised Deductions, a point at which we basically all become employees of HMRC who get hold of our hard earned cash before we do.

He didn’t answer that very clear question.  I expect he thinks it’s a good idea that we all move towards a kind of communist slavery of the kind you see in dystopian films like Children of Men.

What a tit.

About Jason

I am the Managing Director at Bar 2, father of 1 and brother of 2. Enjoy blogging, twittering and generally communicating on the internet, family time and working.
This entry was posted in HMRC, Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing to your MP, total waste of time…

  1. Pingback: David Gauke speaks at Payroll World | Work, Life and Taxes

Leave a Reply

