Chopping Down Trees

Now don’t get me wrong, I hate habitat destruction as much as the next man but I also hate fir and pine trees, especially foreign fir and pine trees stealing all the water and nutrients from our native proper trees. A proper tree is one with a trunk and branches with leaves and flowers on at the top. In winter the leaves have fallen and they look sad, possibly a little spooky. They are proper trees that are worthy of the most passionate of hugs from your average hippy.

So when I moved in to our home to see a Leylandii and a spruce of unknown origin crowding out a beautiful cherry tree complete with trunk and tangled branches I had to take it upon myself to cut them down, leaving the cherry to spread gloriously across the back fence. First to go was the ugly leylandii, to me they are pretty useless tree’s. Birds don’t nest in them and they tend to make the soil dry and slightly acid underneath. So I hired my father-in-law to be, with chainsaw to hack the mother to bits. Took about 20 minutes and the thing was down and a further hour later the lot was at the recycling centre to be munched down to pulp for cheap compost. Slightly more tricky is the pine as it’s a prickly bastard.

Dressed in gloves, hat and overalls I set about it on Sunday with wild abandon, lopping off branches here and sawing off bits of trunk there. I’ve left it a half done job for now as I filled my brown bin up and didn’t want to get pine needles all over my car before its MOT so week after next I’ll finish the job.

So, makes the garden look a bit bigger and allows in a bit more light for new plants and shrubs so I can replace that which has been taken away with better, more suitable vegetation that will attract a wider array of beneficial insects and birds and the garden will become the diverse ecosystem that all gardens should be.

About Jason

I am the Managing Director at Bar 2, father of 1 and brother of 2. Enjoy blogging, twittering and generally communicating on the internet, family time and working.
This entry was posted in gardening, nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

