Companies Selling Google +1’s

Checking where my company ranked in google search this morning for my key term “Umbrella Company”  I noticed it had slipped down from page 5 to page 9!  How could this be I thought?  I soon realised that I was logged out of my google account.  After a paranoid moment of wondering about how I became logged out I got to thinking about the google +1 button.

You see, I had +1’d the site under my key search term.  If logged in, and thus google knowing the site was something I liked, it ranked higher in the search.  Presumably, more +1’s would generate higher ranking as more people were liking the site.

How could I get people to +1 our site?  After a little research it looks like the only realistic approach is to write better content on the site that people will find useful and so tell their connected friends that they think “Hey +1!”.

Purchasing +1’s is a bit like purchasing free ticks in a multiple choice exam.  They will be
entered randomly and will rarely result in the ranking you want.  Take a look at this article from pc world, it looks like if you purchase +1’s you may find your site devoted to the selling of loving hugs for lonely Londoners is extremely popular in searches conducted in the Philippines but ranking rather less well in your home country.

Interesting thought though….. please +1 this.

About Jason

I am the Managing Director at Bar 2, father of 1 and brother of 2. Enjoy blogging, twittering and generally communicating on the internet, family time and working.
This entry was posted in SEO, technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

