Illustration of the 1st law, and a little help please…

Yesterday morning, as is routine, I made my cup of tea and walked into the living room to check my emails a look at the news headlines.  Standing about 2 meters from this very spot, holding my tea at hip level (approximately 1 meter) my hand gave up the ghost, decided to not respond, just let go of my beautiful cup of very hot tea.

Now, what followed was a wonderfully insightful illustration of the 1st law of Thermodynamics.  The cup accelerated at a speed of 9.81 meters per second per second, taking just 0.15 seconds to meet its abrupt rest on the living room carpet.  The cup landed squarely on its base.  The energy previously displayed as kinetic energy in the entire vessel and contents was transferred almost entirely into the hot liquid content, which proceeded to launch itself approximately 2.2 meters into the air (at it’s maximum range) and splash all over our nicely painted white ceiling, after a momentary pause there was a sound of rain in the living room lasting approximately 4 seconds.

The Pregnant don’t care about such things as the 1st law of Thermodynamics or even how amazing it is that one can spill tea onto a ceiling, but they do like nicely painted white ceilings.

I now have a question, a very important question.  How do I remove tea from a ceiling without damaging the paint? I don’t much like painting, so I need solutions.

About Jason

I am the Managing Director at Bar 2, father of 1 and brother of 2. Enjoy blogging, twittering and generally communicating on the internet, family time and working.
This entry was posted in pregnancy, Repairs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

